Presidential Search


The Kansas City Art Institute (KCAI), one of the most respected independent colleges of art and design in the nation, seeks a dynamic president to build on its current momentum and lead the institution to its next era of success. KCAI seeks a president who will guide strategic growth, strengthen the college’s identity and community, deepen its relationships with external partners, and energize the campus community in pursuit of further academic and artistic excellence.

This is an exciting opportunity for an innovative and visionary leader to further develop a premier art and design institution that prepares talented students to transform the world through their creative pursuits. Candidates should bring substantive knowledge and passion for the visual arts; a proven capacity for organizational and academic leadership, including developing and implementing strategic plans; and a demonstrated track record with fundraising and fiscal management. KCAI seeks an individual with a respectful, collaborative, and accessible leadership style; excellent communication skills; a lived commitment to inclusion, diversity, equity, access, and sustainability; a penchant for community engagement; and the drive to be an ambassador and advocate for the college in the broader regional and national landscapes.


Search Committee

Board of Trustees member Laura Flanigan and Vice Chair Herb Kohn will serve as co-chairs of the presidential search committee. The committee represents diverse perspectives from across the college community who each provide valuable insight into the search process. The committee members are:

Laura Flanigan – Co-Chair, Member of the Board of Trustees
Herb Kohn – Co-Chair, Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees
Maura Cluthe, Associate Professor and Co-chair of Illustration
Jonah Criswell, Associate Professor of Painting
Brian Henke, Executive Vice President for Administration and Chief Financial Officer
Shawntae Griffin, Director of Diverse Talent and Inclusion
Milton Katz, Professor, Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculty
Lisa Maione, Assistant Professor of Graphic Design
Nicolle Ratliff, Executive Vice President for Advancement and Communications
Joshua Rowland, Member of the Board of Trustees
Jay Tomlinson, Treasurer of the Board of Trustees
Frank Uryasz, Chair of the Board of Trustees
Margaret Silva (’85 Sculpture), former Member of the Board of Trustees
Kathy Walter-Mack, Member of the Board of Trustees
Murray Woodard II, Member of the Board of Trustees

Search Firm

Isaacson, Miller is a national executive search firm devoted to recruiting exceptional leaders for mission-driven organizations. Founded in 1982, the firm has approximately 200 employees in Boston, Los Angeles, Philadelphia, San Francisco and Washington, DC and completes more than 300 searches a year. The firm has one of the most comprehensive higher education practices in the country and has conducted leadership searches for a substantial number of the most respected arts colleges and schools in the country.